Week 6: What type of scenario do you think might “call” you? Why?

Put yourself in a position similar to Dana’s. Think about your life and relationships. What type of scenario do you think might “call” you? Why? (Try to think of something other than the “saving the ancestor” story.) If you knew you were getting zapped back into the past, or forward into the future, what would you do to prepare yourself?

Traveling in time in order to preserve one’s identity is an interesting premise. Who wouldn’t want to know what was going to happen years down the line? Who wouldn’t want to prevent certain instances in their life?

I think saving your own ancestor is admirable, and certainly necessary, but I don’t think that is what would “call” me to a point in the past or future. I must be more self centered than Dana, but I think that if I was being called it would be to instances that were possibly a hindrance to my happiness later on in life. For example, the person that I might be marrying hypothetically, what if we ended in a bitter divorce years later? I think I would be called before we met and told to avoid said person. Another example, getting into the car to drive my hypothetical children to school, later to be nearly killed, or have my children die by someone running a red light. Being able to prevent massive tragedies in my life would be a very beneficial power to have.

In regards to preparing for these events to happen, I don’t think that I could prepare all that much. If I was there to prevent all of the bad things in my life, how would I know that I was in danger? I would certainly know the end point, so that would be a bonus that Dana didn’t have. Dana had no clue if it was just Rufus that she needed to protect. It could have been for any member in her family that was in danger of not being born, or severely injuring themselves. I would at least know when I was called, because of my time traveling self’s age. I hope that makes sense, time travel is a tricky thing.

1 thought on “Week 6: What type of scenario do you think might “call” you? Why?

  1. We’d all like the chance to clean up or avoid mistakes. I think that’s a universal, but there’s also the point of learning from them. If we avoided a whole situation before we had any consequences, the same thing or something worse may come along next.

Leave a comment